Marriage License during COVID-19 Pandemic
Some counties are experiencing back-log in marriage license appointments. Please call your local office as soon as possible to make an appointment or make an appointment online. Your license will be valid for 90 days.
Marriage License Requirements- State of Texas
Texas Wedding Ministers may marry any couple who has a valid marriage license obtained by any county clerk in the state of Texas or other state that allows for out-of-state marriages. We require that you bring your valid marriage license to your ceremony for your officiant to sign off on and return to your county clerk.
Marriage licenses must be obtained Monday-Friday at your county clerk office, in person, with the fee amount in CASH ONLY. County Clerk offices are closed on all National Holidays. Check your county clerk’s office for business hours.
Military Obtaining their License
If your partner is a member of the military, and cannot be present at the county clerk to obtain the license, Texas allows the military applicant to turn in a notarized absentee affidavit. Affidavits can be notarized on base. This affidavit can then be returned to the county clerk without the person being present, to obtain the license. The 72-hour waiting period is waived automatically for all military couples.
Bexar County Military absentee form
Things You’ll Need
– Divorce decree, annulment paper or death certificate, if applicable
– Marriage license application
– Photo identification
– Certified copy of your birth certificate
– Must know your Social Security number (Some counties may require the physical social security card)
– Must have a current address
Steps in Applying for your license
1. Apply for the marriage license in person at a county clerk’s office.
2. Present proof of age and identity. A driver’s license, state-issued birth certificate or passport are acceptable forms of identification for this purpose. Applicants may also be asked to provide social security numbers.
3. Complete the application and sign it in front of the county clerk. If this is not possible, any adult or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. Contact the local county clerk for additional requirements.
4. Pay the license fee and head to the altar. There must be at least 72 hours between the date and time of issuance of a license and the time the ceremony occurs, unless one applicant is on active duty in the armed forces or a waiver is granted. A marriage license is valid for 90 days.
Tips & Warnings
- When applying for a marriage license, each applicant must indicate that he or she has not been divorced within the last 30 days (unless the applicants were divorced from each other.)
- The marriage ceremony does not have to occur in Texas. The ceremony may occur in another state, another country or in international waters. However, the applicants should realize that if questions arise, the validity of the marriage may be subject to the jurisdiction of the area where the marriage occurred. Research the laws and seek independent legal advice before the ceremony, if necessary.
- Blood tests are not required in Texas.
- Witnesses are not required in Texas
Requirements may vary, as each county in Texas could have their own requirements.
In Texas, you will need one valid form of identification such as drivers license, a certified copy of your birth certificate, U. S. passport, military ID card, and your social security number.
Neither one of you have to be a resident of Texas. Texas is a great locale for a destination wedding!
If divorced within thirty days, Texas requires that you show a certified copy of your divorce decree, stating the 30 day waiting period is waived.
Waiting Period in Texas:
The 72 hours (3 days) waiting period in Texas can be waived for active duty military personnel.
Fees and Other Tests:
Fees for a marriage license vary from $72 – $88 and must be paid in cash, so don’t leave home without it! The fees may vary from Texas county to county. Blood tests or medical examinations are not required in Texas.